ICRA AWARD

The Scientific Advisory Committee of ICRA decided at the meeting in Patzcuaro (Mexico), August 17, 2004, to establish

International Conferences on Representations of Algebras (ICRA) Award

The ICRA Award will be awarded at each session of ICRA for outstanding work by young mathematicians in the field of Representations of Finite Dimensional Algebras. Motivation to create the award builds on the following aims:

- point out contemporary important development in the field,
- encourage research in the field,
- support young algebraists to achieve early scientific recognition,
- stimulate identification of young people with the subject.

ICRA Award: The award consists of a certificate containing a citation. The award will be announced at the Opening Ceremony of each session of ICRA and awarded at the banquet of the Conference. If present, the recipient would be expected to give a plenary talk. Award and citation will be published in the Proceedings of ICRA and widely communicated, for example, to the Notices of the AMS and the Newsletter of the London Mathematical Society.

Eligibility: Any young mathematician, not older than 35 years of age (except to allow for a broken career), is eligible for nomination.

Selection Committee and Decision: At the preceding session of ICRA the Scientific Advisory Committee will set up a Selection Committee, consisting of five people, and chaired by the Chairman of the following session. On the basis of the nominations received, the Selection Committee will propose up to two candidates for an award to the Scientific Advisory Committee. For acceptance the proposal must receive at least two third of the votes of the Scientific Advisory Committee.

Nomination Procedure: Nominations are to be based on research results obtained or surfaced since the previous ICRA session. Nominations are to be made by the members of the Scientific Advisory Committee to the Chairman of the Selection Committee together with documentation and

proposal for the citation. The Chairman will pass the information to the Selection Committee which decides its proposal before the current session of ICRA.

The first award will be made at the meeting of ICRA XII, Toruń (Poland), August 30 - September 8, 2006.

The Selection Committee for the ICRA XII consists of: A.Skowroński (Toruń) - chairman, V.Dlab (Ottawa), Y.A.Drozd (Kiev), H.Lenzing (Paderborn) and J.A. de la Peña (Mexico).

Communications should be addressed to Professor Andrzej Skowroński, Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science, Nicolaus Copernicus University, ul. Chopina 12/18, 87-100 Torun, Poland.

E-mail address: skowron@mat.uni.torun.pl

Deadline: June 30, 2006.

The Scietific Advisory Committee for the ICRA XII in Toruń consists of: R.Bautista (Morelia), R.O.Buchweitz (Toronto), M.C.R.Butler (Liverpool), W.Crawley-Boevey (Leeds), V.Dlab (Ottawa), Y.A.Drozd (Kiev), K.Erdmann (Oxford), D.Happel (Chemnitz), B.Huisgen-Zimmermann (Santa Barbara), B.Keller (Paris), H.Lenzing (Paderborn), M.-P.Malliavin (Paris), H.Merklen (Sao Paulo), J.A de la Peña (Mexico), M.I.Platzeck (Bahia Blanca), I.Reiten (Trondheim), C.M.Ringel (Bielefeld), A.V.Roiter (Kiev), D.Simson (Toruń), A.Skowroński (Toruń), S.O.Smalø(Trondheim), K.Yamagata (Tokyo), Y.Zhang (Beijing).

Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Committee of ICRA XII

Andrzej Skowroński