Research Programme at the Krupp-Kolleg:


1 July - 30 September 2003, Greifswald, Germany


Michael Baake (Greifswald)
Uwe Grimm (Milton Keynes)
Robert V. Moody (Edmonton)
Alexander Quandt (Greifswald)
Janusz Wolny (Krakow)


During this long-term programme on the mathematics and physics of long-range aperiodic order, researchers will join forces to work on selected problems of this interdisciplinary area of current interest.

The participants (some ten at a time) will stay at the Krupp-Kolleg for several weeks, working together in small groups, with access to the usual infrastructure of the university. Regular seminars will be held where participants or guests can report on progress and recent advances of the field.

In addition, we plan to organize two workshops of one week each. Besides the participants of the long-term programme, additional researchers will join to exchange ideas and establish links to related areas.


Mathematics of Aperiodic Order   (5-8 August 2003)

List of Participants:

Helen Au-Yang (Stillwater, USA)
Michael Baake (Greifswald, Germany)
Shelomo I. Ben-Abraham (Beer-Sheba, Israel)
Pawel Buczek (Krakow, Poland)
David Damanik (Caltech, USA)
Ludwig Danzer (Dortmund, Germany)
Nikolai P. Dolbilin (Moscow, Russia)
Michael Engel (Stuttgart, Germany)
Dirk Frettlöh (Greifswald, Germany)
Franz Gähler (Stuttgart, Germany)
Uwe Grimm (Milton Keynes, UK)
Friedrich von Haeseler (Leuven, Belgium)
John R. Hunton (Leicester, UK)
Jeroen Lamb (London, UK)
Jeong-Yup Lee (Edmonton, Canada)
Daniel Lenz (Chemnitz, Germany)
Robert V. Moody (Edmonton, Canada)
Jacques H. H. Perk (Stillwater, USA)
Derek Postnikoff (Edmonton, Canada)
Christoph Richard (Greifswald, Germany)
E. Arthur (Robbie) Robinson Jr. (Washington, USA)
Lorenzo Sadun (Austin, USA)
Egon Schulte (Boston, USA)
Marjorie Senechal (Northampton, USA)
Nikita Sidorov (Manchester, UK)
Bernd Sing (Greifswald, Germany)
Boris Solomyak (Seattle, USA)
Nicolae Strungaru (Edmonton, Canada)
Yang Wang (Atlanta, USA)
Peter Zeiner (Vienna, Austria)

Titles and Abstracts


Extended Programme

Portrait of the participants (with kind permission of Stan Sherer):

More conference pictures

Physics of Aperiodic Order   (1-5 September 2003)

List of Participants:

Shelomo I. Ben-Abraham (Beer-Sheba, Israel)
Petra Gummelt (Greifswald, Germany)
Gerald Kasner (Magdeburg, Germany)
Peter Kramer (Tübingen, Germany)
Reinhard Lück (Stuttgart, Germany)
Dariusz Orzechowski (Krakow, Poland)
Zorka Papadopolos (Tübingen, Germany)
Alexander Quandt (Greifswald, Germany)
Frohmut Rösch (Stuttgart, Germany)
Johannes Roth (Stuttgart, Germany)
Max Scheffer (Chemnitz, Germany)
Pat Thiel (Ames, USA)
Grzegorz Urban (Krakow, Poland)
Janusz Wolny (Krakow, Poland)

Titles and Abstracts



We have prebooked accommodation in the Hotel Caruso and in the Parkhotel. Please send your arrival and departure time for the August workshop to us (email Micha) -- we will make the initial reservation according to your preferences. You will get a confirmation by email. If later adjustments are necessary, we would kindly ask you to arrange that directly with your hotel.

An exception are the student apartments: here, all bookings and changes must be made via us (email Ulrich).

Travel information

Hotel Caruso (frugal rooms, downtown near the Krupp-Kolleg and the Physics Department, with exquisite Italian restaurant)

Domstraße 40
D-17489 Greifswald, GERMANY
tel: ++ 49-3834-799143 or -799144
fax: ++ 49-3834-799145
tenant: Gennaro Gentile

Parkhotel (business class, near the Math Department and the library)

Pappelallee 1
D-17489 Greifswald, GERMANY
tel: ++ 49-3834-874-0
fax: ++ 49-3834-874-555
email: or
contact form

Residential Accommodation (renovated 2-room apartments with shower and telephone, a kitchen for every two apartments, washing machines in the house, nearby supermarkets and a bus stop, within walking distance to the Math Department and the library)

ILG Studentenwohnheim

Makarenkostraße 48 B
D-17491 Greifswald, GERMANY
tel: ++ 49-3834-877-0
fax: ++ 49-3834-877-199

This website will be updated on a regular basis

Uwe Grimm, last modified on